Posted in Best-Seller, Fantasy, Fiction, History, Music, Non-Fiction, Realistic Fiction, Romance, Series

February Fiction & NonFiction Titles

http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/92027  http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/92011  http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/92034  http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/92031  http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/92018

The Radius of Us,” by Marie Marquardt, give us the stories of Gretchen and Phoenix, told in alternating chapters by each of the protagonist’s point of view. Starred review here.

The Bitter Side of Sweet: A Novel,” by Tara Sullivan, is the story of fifteen-year-old Amadou and his little brother Seydou, both who end up as forced labor on a cacao plantation in the Ivory Coast. Upon meeting Khadija, who fights every day to get away, the brothers plot and execute their escape. Starred review here.

Windwitch” (Witchlands series, vol. 2), by Susan Dennard, the sequel to “Truthwitch,” continues with Prince Merik (Windwitch) attempting to locate his sister after he’s left for dead after his ship explodes.

Uprooted: the Japanese American Experience During World War II,” by Albert Marrin, a National Book Award Finalist, chronicles the internment of Japanese Americans during World War II; the book is published in commemoration of the 75th anniversary of the bombing of Pearl Harbor.

Jazz Day: the Making of a Famous Photograph,” by Roxane Orgill, illustrated by Francis Vallejo, tells the story, in verse and picture, how graphic designer Art Kane set about to photographing a group of influential jazz musicians in New York City’s Harlem neighborhood. Review here.

Posted in Adventure, Fiction, History, LGBTQ, Manga, Realistic Fiction, Romance

More books! It never ends! (And that’s a good thing!)

http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/92013  http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/92017  http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/92015  http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/92010  https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/41HQbIz-SdL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg  https://bci.kinokuniya.com/jsp/images/book-img/97814/97814215/9781421583228.JPG

Dive! World War II Stories of Sailors & Submarines in the Pacific” by Deborah Hopkinson, compiles testimonies, personal stories, and photographs to chronicle the lives of members of the US Submarine Force as they waged a war as the “frontline warriors on a liquid battlefied.” Gripping and compelling, and a must-read for researchers and history buffs. Review here.

Holding Up the Universe” by Jennifer Niven – see the trailer here – tells the story of Libby, a previously overweight home-schooled girl, and Jack, a student with face blindness, and their love story. “Flying Lessons & Other Short Stories” features a wide range of cultural fiction  by some of YA’s most prolific authors: Kwame Alexander (“The Crossover“), Walter Dean Myers (“Sunrise over Fallujah“), Jacqueline Woodson (“Another Brooklyn“), and Grace Lin (“Where the Mountain Meets the Moon“). “Because of the Sun” by Jenny Torres Sanchez introduces us to Dani, whose mother has been suddenly killed. Dani is sent to an aunt she doesn’t know in New Mexico, and begins a journey of discovery and friendship with Paolo, a boy who seems to understand her pain. Finally, our Manga collection increases with the addition of volumes 9 and 10 of Assassination Classroom.

 

Save

Posted in Best-Seller, Fantasy, Fiction, Film, Horror, Movie Tie-Ins, Mystery, Realistic Fiction, Romance, Stand Alone

The Big Hitters and Best-Sellers Have Arrived!

http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/91242  http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/91237  http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/91234  http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/91248

As mentioned in a previous post, Larbalestier’s “My Sister Rosa” tackles an original conundrum: How do you protect a little sister who’s a serial killer?

In the same post, we review Marissa Meyer’s newest book “Heartless“: an origin tale of the Queen of Hearts from the classic fantasy Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll.

J. K. Rowling’s first screenplay, “Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them,” was made into the movie of the same name that opened last November. To date, the movie has grossed over $6 million worldwide.

Finally, “The Sun is Also a Star,” Nicola Yoon’s follow-up to “Everything Everything” is the # 1 best-seller on Amazon’s Teen and Young Adult category. The Horn Book review says it best: “Fans of Eleanor & Park and The Fault in Our Stars  are destined to fall for Daniel and Natasha.” Don’t miss this one!

Posted in Fiction, Holiday, Romance, Stand Alone

It’s Here: What Light, by Jay Asher

The best-selling classic Thirteen Reasons Why, a book that has sold over a million copies, tells the story about a young girl named Hannah who commits suicide and who leaves a package of cassette tapes on the porch of her friend Clay, detailing the 13 reasons why she decided to end her life. Author Jay Asher wrote this gripping book in 2007, and has not written another book since.

Until now.

What Light is another emotional book, more poignant about hope, love and forgiveness. Sierra, the daughter of two Christmas tree farmers, travels to southern California to help her mom and dad with the annual harvest. While there meets a troubled boy named Caleb, and she finds herself attracted to him, despite his questionable past. Predictable and sweet, this book is the perfect holiday read while sipping hot chocolate and eating gingerbread cookies.

Click on the title or the image to access the record in our catalog.

What Light, by Jay Asher

http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/90567

Save

Posted in Fan Fiction, Fantasy, Fiction, Horror, Humor, Realistic Fiction, Romance, Science Fiction

NEW! November Fiction Titles

Below are our recent fiction stand-alone (not part of a series) acquisitions to our YA library. Click on the title or on the image to access the record in our catalog, and/or on “Read review” to read a recent review (if available).

https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/90527   https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/51In9OBeIkL._SX339_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/90541  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/90560  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/90554  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/90539