Posted in Best-Seller, Dystopia, Fiction, Girl Power, History, Horror, Humor, LGBTQ, Mystery, Non-Fiction, Realistic Fiction, Romance, Science Fiction, Series, Suspense, Teen Top Ten

2017 TTT! (Teens Top 10 Nominees for the 10 Best Books of the Year)

The 2017 TTT nominees have been announced! The TTT are announced every year on the Thursday of National Library Week (April 9-15). Check out the video below featuring Amandla Stenberg and Nick Robinson, stars of “Everything Everything,” the new movie hitting theaters later this year and based on the best-selling YA novel by Nicola Yoon.

A total of 26 books were chosen by members of teen book groups from fifteen schools and public libraries in the U.S. Click on “2017 TTT Nominees” for a list of titles.

2017 TTT Nominees.

The Rodgers Memorial Library carries many of these titles. Click on the title to access the book in our catalog:

Advertisements
Posted in Adventure, Best-Seller, Fantasy, Fiction, Horror, Mystery, Romance, Series, Supernatural, Suspense

New Series Fiction!

http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/92009    http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/92033  http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/92038 http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/92037

Click on the book cover above or on the title below to access the book record in our catalog.

New Series! The Bear and the Nightingale, by Katherine Arden.

Russian country girl Vasilisa is forbidden from honoring the household spirits by her new stepmother, who maintains that such beliefs are superstition. Vasilisa is forced to defy the people she loves and use the dangerous gifts she has been given in order to protect her family from Frost, the blue-eyed winter demon.

Concluding Series! Wayfarer (Passenger series, vol. 2), by Alexandra Bracken.

Action-packed and full of suspense, the sequel to Passenger finds Etta still struggling to unite with Nicholas, her love from another time. From colonial Nassau to New York City, San Francisco to Roman Carthage, imperial Russia to the Vatican catacombs, New York Times #1 best-selling author Alexandra Bracken charts a gorgeously detailed, thrilling course through time in this stunning conclusion to the Passenger series.

Continuing Series! Devil’s Advocate (X-Files Origins, vol. 2), by Jonathan Mayberry.

Fifteen-year-old Dana Scully is haunted by vivid, recurring dreams that seem more like visions. When a recently deceased classmate appears before Dana, she’s compelled to investigate, and in the course of her search uncovers even more suspicious deaths – and comes face to face with the knowledge that evil is real.

New Series! You Don’t Know My Name, by Kristen Orlando.

Seventeen-year-old Reagan is fast on track to become a member of the most elite secret agency in the world, the Black Angels. After falling in love with the boy next door, she has to make a choice: Will she continue the adventurous (and dangerous) world she was born into, or follow her heart?

Posted in Best-Seller, Fantasy, Fiction, Film, Horror, Movie Tie-Ins, Mystery, Realistic Fiction, Romance, Stand Alone

The Big Hitters and Best-Sellers Have Arrived!

http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/91242  http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/91237  http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/91234  http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/91248

As mentioned in a previous post, Larbalestier’s “My Sister Rosa” tackles an original conundrum: How do you protect a little sister who’s a serial killer?

In the same post, we review Marissa Meyer’s newest book “Heartless“: an origin tale of the Queen of Hearts from the classic fantasy Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll.

J. K. Rowling’s first screenplay, “Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them,” was made into the movie of the same name that opened last November. To date, the movie has grossed over $6 million worldwide.

Finally, “The Sun is Also a Star,” Nicola Yoon’s follow-up to “Everything Everything” is the # 1 best-seller on Amazon’s Teen and Young Adult category. The Horn Book review says it best: “Fans of Eleanor & Park and The Fault in Our Stars  are destined to fall for Daniel and Natasha.” Don’t miss this one!

Posted in Author Interview, Classic, Fantasy, Fiction, Horror, Realistic Fiction

Coming Soon: “The Sun is Also a Star” and “My Sister Rosa” and “Heartless”

   

Medium  Medium  MediumImage result for nicola yoon  Medium  Medium

From left: Authors Nicola Yoon, Justine Larbalestier, Marissa Meyer

Arriving in December: The long-awaited follow-up to Nicola Yoon’s best-seller Everything Everything. Read an interview with the author where she discusses her new book The Sun is Also a Star.

Also arriving: A creepy thriller by Australian author Justine Larbalestier (author of the 2010 very popular Zombies vs. Unicorns, also arriving). Read here about why she decided to write her new book My Sister Rosa about a teenage boy’s relationship with his psychopath 10-year-old sister.

And finally: Marissa Meyer – author of the terrific and best-selling “Lunar Chronicles” series (Cinder, Scarlet, etc.) – discusses Heartless, her imaginative take on the teenage life of the Queen of Hearts (“Off with her head!”) from the famous book Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland (more popularly known as Alice in Wonderland) by Lewis Carroll. Read the interview here.

 

Posted in Fan Fiction, Fantasy, Fiction, Horror, Humor, Realistic Fiction, Romance, Science Fiction

NEW! November Fiction Titles

Below are our recent fiction stand-alone (not part of a series) acquisitions to our YA library. Click on the title or on the image to access the record in our catalog, and/or on “Read review” to read a recent review (if available).

https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/90527   https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/51In9OBeIkL._SX339_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/90541  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/90560  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/90554  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/90539