Posted in Best-Seller, Fantasy, Fiction, Film, Horror, Movie Tie-Ins, Mystery, Realistic Fiction, Romance, Stand Alone

The Big Hitters and Best-Sellers Have Arrived!

http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/91242  http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/91237  http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/91234  http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/91248

As mentioned in a previous post, Larbalestier’s “My Sister Rosa” tackles an original conundrum: How do you protect a little sister who’s a serial killer?

In the same post, we review Marissa Meyer’s newest book “Heartless“: an origin tale of the Queen of Hearts from the classic fantasy Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll.

J. K. Rowling’s first screenplay, “Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them,” was made into the movie of the same name that opened last November. To date, the movie has grossed over $6 million worldwide.

Finally, “The Sun is Also a Star,” Nicola Yoon’s follow-up to “Everything Everything” is the # 1 best-seller on Amazon’s Teen and Young Adult category. The Horn Book review says it best: “Fans of Eleanor & Park and The Fault in Our Stars  are destined to fall for Daniel and Natasha.” Don’t miss this one!

Advertisements
Posted in Food and Drink, Harry Potter, Prizes, Teen Events

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: Harry Potter Party!

To mark the opening of the movie Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, opening Thursday, November 17 and based on the J. K. Rowling book of the same name, the Rodgers Memorial Library has planned a Harry Potter party!

Anyone arriving in theme-appropriate costumes will go home with a special prize, and we’ll be raffling off some Harry Potter door prizes, including two (one child, one adult) tickets to the Thursday, November 17, 6pm of “Fantastic Beasts” at AMC in Tyngsborough!

Walk through Platform 9 3/4 and “visit” Hogsmeade with a trip to Honeydukes, which features Bertie Botts Every-Flavor-Beans, Cauldron Cakes, and Fizzing Whizzbees! (Honeyduke’s will also be featuring some treats from Weasley’s Wizard Wheezes, including U-No-Poo and Puking Pastilles – yum!)

Hop on over to the Three Broomsticks and sip on some delicious butterbeer and (non-alcoholic – sorry, kids!) fire whiskey!

Create your very own wand, and play some Quidditch, then settle down in the Hogwarts viewing area to watch trailers from the movie “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them,” followed by “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone” on our big screen! Come join us! Register here.

 

Posted in Fiction

Yep. We’ve Got It. Two copies.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child / Based on an original new story by J. K. Rowling, with John Tiffany & Jack Thorne.

Harry is all grown up, married to Ginny Weasley and the father of three school-age children: James, Albus Severus, and Lily Potter. While Harry grapples with meeting the demands of his job at the Ministry of Magic, his legacy, fame, and the aftermath of Voldemort’s war places a strain on his relationship with Albus, who struggles to be seen as a separate person from his famous father. Characters from the original seven books populate this update of the Potter story – Hermione, Ron, Draco, Professor McGonagall, and even Hagrid and Aunt Petunia make an appearance.

NOTE: This is NOT a novel. It is a working script of the play now running in London’s West End. (Here’s Harry and Ginny; Ron and Hermione with their daughter Rose; Hermione, Ron, and Harry; the Potter family at Platform 9 3/4; and Harry and his son Albus.

As of this writing, there are holds on both books. If you’d like to place a hold on one of our copies, have your library card and click on the title above to access the record in our catalog. Click on “Place hold” link located at the far right of the screen, then key in all 14 numbers located under the bar code of your library card.

Placing a hold on a copy is as easy as using the summoning spell, although the results are not as immediate. Accio Harry Potter and the Cursed Child!

Cursed child.jpg