Posted in Adventure, American Library Association (ALA), Best-Seller, Dystopia, Fantasy, Fiction, Gay Teens, Historical Fiction, History, LGBTQ, Mystery, Non-Fiction, Realistic Fiction, Romance, Teen Top Ten, Teens, World-Building

Teens’ Top Ten books are here!

TeensTopTen_logoThe Teens’ Top Ten picks are here! The Teens’ Top Ten is a “teen choice” list, where teens nominate and choose their favorite books of the previous year, so they’re YA books chosen by teens for teens! Nominators are members of teen book groups in fifteen school and public libraries around the country. You can learn more about the award here.

Check on any of the images below to access the title in our catalog. Books are listed alphabetically by author. Click here for a list containing a short synopsis of each book.

https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/93230  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/93225  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/90037  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/93238  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/93232  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/90034  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/85690  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/87154  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/93219  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/91376  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/93217  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/87602  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/90536  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/86241  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/93244  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/93208  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/91237  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/89122 https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/92775  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/89443  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/92773  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/93227  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/93233  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/93200  https://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/91248

Save

Posted in Best-Seller, Dystopia, Fantasy, Fiction, Printz Honor, Science Fiction, Series, Teens, World-Building

Shusterman and Taylor! More Books for April

http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/92773 http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/92774

Scythe, by Neal Shusterman. “Scythe” is one of four 2017 Printz Honor Books, which are awarded yearly to books geared to young adults that exemplify “literary excellence in young adult literature.”

Strange the Dreamer, by Laini Taylor. The best-selling author of the “Daughter of Smoke & Bone” trilogy presents the story of a guilt-ridden hero, a dreamer librarian and a girl with dangerous powers who all combat monsters and treachery in the aftermath of a war between gods and men. Read the Kirkus review here.

Save

Posted in Best-Seller, Dystopia, Fiction, Girl Power, History, Horror, Humor, LGBTQ, Mystery, Non-Fiction, Realistic Fiction, Romance, Science Fiction, Series, Suspense, Teen Top Ten

2017 TTT! (Teens Top 10 Nominees for the 10 Best Books of the Year)

The 2017 TTT nominees have been announced! The TTT are announced every year on the Thursday of National Library Week (April 9-15). Check out the video below featuring Amandla Stenberg and Nick Robinson, stars of “Everything Everything,” the new movie hitting theaters later this year and based on the best-selling YA novel by Nicola Yoon.

A total of 26 books were chosen by members of teen book groups from fifteen schools and public libraries in the U.S. Click on “2017 TTT Nominees” for a list of titles.

2017 TTT Nominees.

The Rodgers Memorial Library carries many of these titles. Click on the title to access the book in our catalog:

Posted in Best-Seller, Fiction, Movie Tie-Ins, Movie Trailer, Realistic Fiction, Romance, Uncategorized

Everything, Everything

The best-selling book by Nicola Yoon is now a movie, due for release later this spring/early summer.

Maddie has lived a sheltered existence most of her life, which her mother explains is due to her life-threatening allergies. When Maddie befriends – and falls in love with – Oliver, the boy next door, she embarks on an adventure that not only risks her life, but forces her to reconsider her condition, her relation to her mother, and her love for Ollie.

Click here for more information on the movie, and more about author Nicola Yoon and the book. Come check it out!

Posted in Best-Seller, Current Affairs, Non-Fiction, Teen Events, Teens, Topical, True Crime

“Serial” and “Adnan’s Story”

http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/92006

In 2014 I became addicted to National Public Radio’s (NPR) new podcast “Serial.” The show’s premise was simple: Choose one story to thoroughly investigate, and broadcast the findings on a weekly basis over 12 weeks.

The freshman podcast’s first story was the 1999 unsolved murder of high school senior Hae Min Lee, a student at Woodmore High School in Baltimore, Maryland, whose body was found underneath a pile of leaves in nearby Leakin (pronounced “Lincoln”) Park. Her former boyfriend Adan Syed was arrested and, despite his claims of innocence, at age 19 was found guilty of Lee’s murder. Syed was convicted and sent to the North Branch Correctional Institution in Cumberland, Maryland, where he has been for 17 years.

(The Huffington Post compiled a series of pictures related to the podcast, including pictures of Lee and Syed, here.)

Due to the enormous popularity of the podcast and to the fact that Syed’s attorney failed to interview a key witness, Syed, now 37 years old, earned a new trial. Read more about the status of the new trial here, here, and here.

The newly published book Adnan’s Story:The Search for Truth and Justice After Serial, written by family friend Rabia Chaudry, presents new key evidence that the author maintains dismantles the State’s case against Syed, and introduces a potential new suspect.

Access the book in our catalog by clicking on the image above, or by clicking here.

 

Posted in Best-Seller, Fantasy, Fiction, Film, Horror, Movie Tie-Ins, Mystery, Realistic Fiction, Romance, Stand Alone

The Big Hitters and Best-Sellers Have Arrived!

http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/91242  http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/91237  http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/91234  http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/91248

As mentioned in a previous post, Larbalestier’s “My Sister Rosa” tackles an original conundrum: How do you protect a little sister who’s a serial killer?

In the same post, we review Marissa Meyer’s newest book “Heartless“: an origin tale of the Queen of Hearts from the classic fantasy Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll.

J. K. Rowling’s first screenplay, “Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them,” was made into the movie of the same name that opened last November. To date, the movie has grossed over $6 million worldwide.

Finally, “The Sun is Also a Star,” Nicola Yoon’s follow-up to “Everything Everything” is the # 1 best-seller on Amazon’s Teen and Young Adult category. The Horn Book review says it best: “Fans of Eleanor & Park and The Fault in Our Stars  are destined to fall for Daniel and Natasha.” Don’t miss this one!

Posted in Best-Seller, Humor, Realistic Fiction, Series, Supernatural

New Additions to Popular Series

http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/91250   http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/91223 http://evergreen.rodgerslibrary.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/90035

Cassandra Clare (The Mortal Instruments and Infernal Devices series), Maureen Johnson (Shades of London series), Sarah Rees Brennan (The Devil’s Lexicon series), and Robin Wasserman contribute sections to the Shadowhunter Academy series, The New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling collection of short stories chronicling the adventures of Simon Lewis as he trains to become a Shadowhunter, and is now available for the first time with ten brand-new comic illustrations.

Cassie Hobbes and the rest of the Naturals are back in “Bad Blood,” the conclusion to Jennifer Lynn Barnes’s FBI thriller series The Naturals.

Finally, everyone’s favorite writer of mythology offers the latest – and hilarious – addition to his Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard series: “The Hammer of Thor.” In this second installment, Thor’s hammer is missing – again. The thunder god has a disturbing habit of misplacing his weapon–the mightiest force in the Nine Worlds. But this time the hammer isn’t just lost, it has fallen into enemy hands. If Magnus Chase and his friends can’t retrieve the hammer quickly, the mortal worlds will be defenseless against an onslaught of giants. Ragnarok will begin. The Nine Worlds will burn. Unfortunately, the only person who can broker a deal for the hammer’s return is the gods’ worst enemy, Loki–and the price he wants is very high.